Ljubljana’s landmarks designed by architect Jože Plečnik (1872-1957), including the Triple Bridge, Congress Square and Žale Cemetery, have been included in UNESCO’s World Heritage List.

As Kenneth Frampton wrote: “Due to his exceptional creativity and discreet innovativeness, Plečnik was able to create one of the most poetic works of the 20th century, which did not conform to any of the architectural trends of the time.” The landmarks, among others, include the Triple Bridge, Congress Square, and Žale Cemetery, except for the Bežigrad Stadium. You can read more about Plečniks creations in Ljubljana here. Slovenia already has four entries in the World Heritage List – ancient and primaeval beech forests of the Carpathians, the heritage of mercury in Idrija, prehistoric pile dwellings around the Alps, and the Škocjan Caves.

Plečnik’s Ljubljana

“Plečnik’s Ljubljana” is a phenomenon of the 20th century urban landscape, transformed by one architect, with a conscious departure from the established modern movement orientations, to such an extent that the centuries-old character of the space was preserved.

Slovenia Plecnik Cevljarski_© Slovenian Tourist Board
Slovenia Plecnik Cevljarski_© Slovenian Tourist Board


In order to enjoy the city of Ljubljana, city breaks are always a popular choice, whatever the season, since they offer the most varied combination of content for different interests and age groups. There are six themed packages for multi-day experiences and four special one-day experiences. All the packages include bed and breakfast for two people (four in the case of family packages) in a three- or four-star hotel or private accommodation, late checkout (up to 2.00 p.m.), free parking and Wi-Fi. But the differences lie in the details.

Lujbjana © Slovenian Tourist Board
Lujbjana © Slovenian Tourist Board

For more information: https://www.visitljubljana.com/en/media/news/made-to-measure-city-breaks-in-ljubljana/


Erika Berger

Beitragsbild: Lujbjana © Slovenian Tourist Board

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahren Sie mehr darüber, wie Ihre Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden .